Adventure, music

Ed Sheeran and One Direction Concert

Hey guys,

This post is also quite late. This summer I went to two concerts: Ed Sheeran and One Direction.

The first of these two concerts that I saw was Ed Sheeran. I had seen Ed once before at the BBC Music Awards in 2014 and was lucky enough to be front row when he was on stage there. It was so much fun and he was an amazing performer so I was super excited to go see his concert. Rixton opened for him and they were really good as well. I think because I lived in the UK for a while I knew them a bit better than some people at the concert. They were really good and were a good opening act for Ed Sheeran. When Ed Sheeran came on stage though the crowd irrupted in excitement. He was so talented and it was amazing how it was just him, a guitar, and a loop petal on stage. He did old songs, new songs, covers of songs, and mash ups. There were people of all ages there and it was just amazing to see how he could captivate an audience so well. Everybody was singing along and enjoying themselves and all in all it was a amazing concert!! I would love to see him again anytime he is playing close to me.

 

My next concert of 2015 was One Direction in July. They played in the same city as Ed Sheeran but a different arena. The Ed Sheeran concert was indoors and One Directions was outdoors. Traffic getting to the One Direction concert was horrible. When we got there Icona Pop was already on stage but had just started. Icona Pop was an okay opening act. Not very many people payed much attention to them or knew many of their songs. Once they went off stage there was a lot of stage set up going on and One Direction didn’t actually go on stage until 9 when they were supposed to be on at 8 if I remember right. The venue they chose as well was the biggest venue in my city and it was maybe half full. The whole top section was pretty much empty. The floor was full and the first level was 3/4 full. I had seen One Direction at the BBC Music Awards in 2014 too and they had everybody there, in London, singing with them and super hyped. I was a bit disappointed I wasn’t front row for them there but now was my chance to see them in concert and I was super excited. I love One Direction if you don’t already know that so I had really high expectations for this concert. I thought when I got there that the arena would be full, which it wasn’t, and that like in London there would be people from 10-30 years old there. When I got there it was mostly young girls (13-17) which I was expecting and then just parents. The age range wasn’t as wide as I thought it would be. When One Direction walked on stage the crowd went wild! They preformed “Clouds” first and it was still day light when they came out but the sun was setting. The crowd at the concert was about the same size as the BBC Music Awards, maybe a bit larger, but the difference in venue size was massive. The crowd throughout the concert though didn’t have the same energy level as the one in London. You could tell that the boys of One Direction knew this as well. They were a lot quieter and not as energetic throughout the show. It was still a good show it just didn’t have the same level of energy or captivation that they had in London. All of the parents just sat in their chairs on their phones. Most people were standing up singing along just enjoying themselves though. I felt quite bad for the boys though. The section straight ahead of them was pretty much empty other than the first few rows and when they looked at the second level it was pretty much empty. My sister and I were able to get tickets to their concert, with pretty good seats, two days before the concert. (When the concert was announced we weren’t sure where in the world we would be so we never got tickets.) Anyways I will try and keep this short. They are amazing performers and are great singers. Even though they were a bit more reserved and it rained they kept in great spirits and had they crowd in a good mood all the way through their show. I hope they are all having a great break and if they come back for another tour later I would love to see them again.

I love listening to live music. I think concerts/festivals are just something that make you live in the moment and forget about anything that makes you feel negative. You just get to enjoy yourself in the moment when surrounded by live music.

Standard

Leave a comment